16 Jun 2016

Amba Hotels City of London Mile Elite Field Announced

A strong field line up Sunday to conquer the City Streets

Twenty-year-old Luke Mathews of Australia will start as overwhelming favourite to win the men’s elite race when the third edition of the Amba Hotels City of London Mile takes place in London this Sunday.

Mathews has been Australia’s stand-out middle distance star of 2016. He opened his year with an 800m world lead of 1:46:35 in January, ran a 1500m PB of 3:35.99 in Nijmegen last month and less than a week ago won the 1500m at Bislett in a time of 3:37.99 in a race where Brits Jake Wightman and Tom Lancashire finished 3rd and 7th respectively.

Mathews comes up against fellow Aussie Collis Birmingham who has a personal best time of 3:54.30 for the mile and who finished 2nd in the corresponding race a year ago. With Ryan Gregson winning here in 2014 and Kiwi Julian Matthews in 2015, there has yet to be a British winner of the men’s race.

The strongest British opposition is likely to come from Rich Peters who is returning from injury and Chris Warburton who finished 2nd in the race’s inaugural edition in 2014.

The women’s race is much harder to call. Last year’s winner Alison Leonard has decided to miss the event this year to hone her preparation for the Olympic 800m Trials.

Selma Kajan of Australia will be looking to go one better than her 2nd place in 2014 and comes up against Morag MacLarty who finished one place behind her two years ago. MacLarty is herself returning from injury and hopeful that she can return to the kind of form that saw her running 4:10.86 over 1500m back in 2010.

Others to watch include Jade Williams and Charlotte Arter who finished 4th and 6th respectively in last year’s race. Faye Fullerton who was 7th in last month’s Westminster Mile is also in the field.

The elite races take place at the end of the race programme comprising a series of Mile ‘waves’. There is a separate Youth Mile, Women’s Mile, Wheelchair Mile and Family Mile. The action gets underway at 10am on Sunday 19 June outside St. Paul’s Cathedral.

Luke Mathews Selma Kajan
Collis Birmingham Jade Williams
Rich Peters Faye Fullerton
Chris Warburton Morag MacLarty
Tony Whiteman Molly Renfer
Luke Gunn Gemma Kersey
Matt Clowes Charlotte Arter
Mike Wilsmore Charlotte Green
Jonny Hopkins Chloe Anderson
Ben Connor Tamara Armoush
Julia Cooke